Perth Cup 2011 Nominations

December 8th, 2010

Forty-nine horses make up the early entries for the 2011 Perth Cup, the final feature of the Ascot Summer Racing Carnival set to run at Ascot Racecourse on New Year’s Day, January 1, 2011.

Nominations for the $400,000 Group 2 Perth Cup (2400m) are up four horses from the 2010 edition of the famous staying feature and include eight eastern state raiders.

Sydney trainer Chris Waller has nominated three of his stable horses in next year’s Perth Cup with Triple Honour, Beijing Boy and Butwaittheresmore all heading towards the event.

Of the three, Triple Honour is the top elect having run in both the Group 1 Railway Stakes (1600m) and Group 1 Kingston Town Classic (1800m) at Ascot this preparation, improving greatly in the Kingston Town when finishing sixth to Playing God.

Early favourite to win the 2011 Perth Cup is Impressive Jeuney, the Darren Mcaullife-trained mare coming off a gallant second in the Kingston Town Classic and continuing to impress this season.

Other horses likely to open high up the Perth Cup betting markets following promising runs this Summer Carnival include:

Colour Correct, the beaten Railway Stakes favourite showing growth with an eye-catching fourth in the Railway Stakes.

– Neville Parnham’s sole Perth Cup nominee God Has Spoken, the Blackfriars four-year-old looking to return to their R.J. Peters Stakes winning form after two well beaten finishes at Group 1 level.

– In-form five-year-old Marooned gelding Brandy Lane who most recently won the Listed G.A. Towton Cup (2200m) at Ascot on December 4.

– The Grant Williams-trained Ranger, a classy Testa Rossa four-year-old in career best form this preparation.

– Quality three-year-old Hoegaarden having performed consistently in their recent black-type runs including a win in the Listed Fairetha Stakes (1400m) and third place finish in the Group 2 WA Guineas (1600m).

The other black-type feature held at the Perth Cup meeting to celebrate the end of another WA racing season is the $100,000 Listed Schweppes Summer Scorcher (1000m).

The 2011 BMW Perth Cup final field of acceptances and barrier draw will be released on December 27.

Futures betting markets on the Perth Cup, however, will open shortly at online bookmakers around the country so prepare to lock in your selections at the best possible odds by signing up with the Tabcorp-owned Luxbet today!

2011 BMW Perth Cup Early Entries

# Horse Trainer
1 TRIPLE HONOUR (NZ) Chris Waller
2 COLOUR CORRECT Ross & Clint Price
3 IMPRESSIVE JEUNEY Darren Mcauliffe
4 GONDORFF (NZ) Mike Powell
5 GOD HAS SPOKEN Neville Parnham
6 GUYNO (NZ) Lou Luciani
7 MA CHIENNE Adam Durrant
8 GREAT DESTINY Adam Durrant
10 NEW SPICE Elva Van Merwyk
11 SIMPLY ADORABLE Vaughn Sigley
12 ALMOHAD Lou Luciani
13 MEGA STEEL Bruce MCClune
14 ADMIRING Michael Grant
15 GEYSER PEAK Frank Maynard
16 TELEXDEN Kylie Dowling
17 DOMINICANO Darren Mcauliffe
18 LATE NIGHT FLIGHT Suzanne Forrest
19 STOKEHOUSE Sean Casey
20 RANGER Grant Williams
21 BIG TED Ivan Haggerty
22 IT’S JUDGEMENT DAY (NZ) Peter Morley
23 TRANQUILITY Grant Williams
24 MIGHTY ROSSA Micahel Grant
25 CHIN CHIN Brett Wilkinson
26 DOUBLE BARREL Adam Durrant
27 TIMELY REIGN Paul Hunter
29 RICH SUCCESS (NZ) Rhona MacPhilomey
30 RIVOTIO Allen McNamara
31 YABIGORSE Ben Pearce
32 WESTERN JEWEL Grant Williams
33 AITCHISON Norm Pascoe
34 DENUNCIATE Tony Noonan
35 KAWATIRI Daniel Morton
36 PEG’S PRIDE Michael Morton
37 GUEST WING Shane Edwards
38 LITTLE GREY TEAPOT Meaghan Dwyer-Davies
39 MR D’ALTON Sheldon Cook
40 THE MOON DAY Peter Morley
41 RED GEISHA Ivan Haggerty
42 SPEECH ROOM Shane Edwards
43 BEIJING BOY (NZ) Chris Waller
44 BUTWAITTHERE’SMORE (NZ) Michael Moroney
45 CAPECOVER (NZ) Paddy Payne
46 FAST FUTURE (NZ) Russel Cameron
47 ISHANT Peter Moody
48 STRIKE ONE (GB) Chris Waller
49 TARA MAN Tony McEvoy