Perth Cup News

Adam Durrant’s classy mare Real Love could be eastern-state bound in this autumn after her gutsy all-the-way victory over Red Blast in the Perth Cup 2015 at Ascot Racecourse on New Year’s Day. The four-year-old daughter of Desert King posted her third feature Perth Summer Racing Carnival victory on the…

Perth Cup

The 2016 Perth Cup is Western Australia’s premier thoroughbred racing event. Held at the esteemed Ascot Racecourse on New Year’s Day annually, it is the headline feature of the prestigious Perth Summer Racing Carnival and attracts an enormous 35,000 strong crowd of spectators and punters every year.

The 2016 Perth Cup will be held at Ascot Racecourse on New Year’s Day (Thursday) 1 January 2016.

Perth Cup Special Offer:
Get a $500 Bonus Bet* from

The Perth Cup returned to New Year’s Day in 2013, the last edition of the race that was run on New Year’s Eve was on December 31 2011 and meant that there was no Perth Cup in 2012.

A Group 2 status race, the Perth Cup is run under open handicap conditions and is a staying test run over 2400m at a notoriously difficult course, with stakes set at a lucrative $500 000.

Perth Cup History

First run in 1887 this time-honoured race has a rich history and is now officially registered as the BMW Perth Cup due to sponsorship from BMW.

Originally run over 2 miles the distance of the race was increased to 2 miles 11 yards in 1947 and remained the same up until 1962 when it reverted back to its original length of two miles. A decade later in 1972 the distance was changed to 3200m with Australia’s adoption of the metric system and in line with the Melbourne Cup. Then in 2009 the race length was cut dramatically to 2400m in an attempt to attract a higher quality field of contenders.

Perth Cup Betting

One of the best lead-up races to the Perth Cup is the Group 2 C B Cox Stakes (2100m) held a fortnight earlier. The C B Cox Stakes has served as an excellent indicator to the Perth Cup in recent years with Cats Fun (2008), Palatious (1994), Mirror Magic (1992) and Saratov (1989) all claiming the C B Cox Stakes – Perth Cup double.

This double is a great betting option for punters looking to add some extra excitement to the Perth Carnival and can be placed online with one of Australia’s leading bookmakers including and

When betting on the Perth Cup, also keep the C B Cox Stakes winner in mind for your Place bets as Early Express (2006) and Free At Last (2005) both won this earlier race prior to placing third and second respectively in the Perth Cup.

The Perth Cup is also considered the ideal preparatory race to the coveted $500 000 Group 1 WATC Derby (2400m) held in early April at the same course.

Perth Cup – Fast Facts

  • Date Held: 1st January annually
  • Track Location: Ascot Racecourse, Perth
  • Race Status: Group 2
  • Race Distance: 2400m
  • Race Conditions: Open Handicap
  • Stakes: $500,000
  • Inaugurated: 1887

Follow all of the action of the Perth Cup and the Festival of Perth Racing by staying up to date on the latest Horse Racing News.